Quick Tip: Hiding that You are Stalking on LinkedIn

Have you ever seen a message from LinkedIn saying that a person has been viewing your profile? LinkedIn “informs” people when others view their profile, which is so helpful, and perhaps a little bit creepy.

Perhaps you want to do some stalking “research” on your existing or potential connections without them knowing that you are looking.

Hover over your profile icon in the top right corner, then under account settings you will see “Privacy and Settings.” Click “Manage.” On the next screen in the “Profile” tab, click the “Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile” link. Now you can select whether your activity is public, partially obfuscated, or completely anonymous. Click the “Save Changes” button when you are done.

As an extra resource, take a look at LinkedIn’s comparison between free and premium accounts, which explores some of the differences between what you can see when people are viewing your profile.